Tejano Leadership in Mexican and Revolutionary Texas

978-1-60344-152-0 Cloth
5 x 9 x 0 in
280 pp. 13 b&w photos. Index.
Pub Date: 01/12/2010


2010 Clotilde P. Garcia Tejano Book Prize- Honorable Mention, presented by the Tejano Genealogy Society of Austin

Tejanos (Texans of Mexican heritage) were instrumental leaders in the life and development of Texas during the Mexican period, the war of independence, and the Texas Republic.

Jesús F. de la Teja and ten other scholars examine the lives, careers, and influence of many long-neglected but historically significant Tejano leaders who were active and influential in the formation, political and military leadership, and economic development of Texas.

In Tejano Leadership in Mexican and Revolutionary Texas, lesser-known figures such as Father Refugio de la Garza, Juan Martín Veramendi, José Antonio Saucedo, Raphael Manchola, and Carlos de la Garza join their better-known counterparts—José Antonio Navarro, Juan Seguín, and Plácido Benavides, for example—on the stage of Texas and regional historical consideration.

This book also features a foreword by David J. Weber, in which he discusses how Anglocentric views allowed important Tejano figures to fade from public knowledge. Students and scholars of Texas and regional history, those interested in Texana, and readers in Latino/a studies will glean important insights from Tejano Leadership in Mexican and Revolutionary Texas.

Elma Dill Russell Spencer Series in the West and Southwest

Published by Texas A&M University Press